Argyle (Solo)  - 1
Argyle (Solo)  - 1

Urban music, Pop, World & folk

Argyle (Solo)

Werkstatt Kultur-Bar, Chur

The Scottish musician Argyle has big goals. On long Saturday he plays a solo set at Werkstatt Chur.

Argyle is one of those guys you meet unexpectedly in a pub, only to realize two hours and a few beers later: Someone has experienced quite a lot in his young life. It's hardly surprising that the singer and musician writes episodes to soften the hardest of hearts. Argyle's backpack, which he has been carrying around since childhood, not only provides material and inspiration for songs, but also provides the Scottish-born singer with a daily sense of purpose and drive to move forward. Argyle himself knows, "My musical journey started a long time ago. And I can see where it's taking me. But the goal must clearly be the international stage." Even if the Scottish all-rounder - he writes songs with Marius Bear or Stress, taps beer in Zurich's alleys or spends a large part of the winter in the Grisons mountains - has big goals, it all started on a small scale.

Argyle grew up in extremely modest circumstances as the son of an Indian and a Scotswoman, proved himself to be a good student, got to know the pitfalls of a bleak industrial town on the Scottish coast, and as a teenager finally moved to Leicester, England, only to discover that the city near Brighton kills dreams: "Don't go there," says the likeable contemporary, smiling bittersweetly. So it was not to be the end of the line in Leicester. And Argyle did what many artists often do when there is only a small strip left on the horizon: The singer-songwriter lost himself in his music and began writing his own songs on his guitar. Eight years ago, Argyle finally stranded in Amsterdam and not much later, for love's sake, in his new home, Switzerland. Here, the creative seems to like it. And he likes it so much that he wants to open his new chapter in this country.

Soul meets folk meets pop: Argyle's melodic symbioses often give rise to the suspicion that he has eaten from the same plates as Nutini or Capaldi. Admittedly, this comparison is not completely out of the blue. The argyle tincture gathers melody, melancholy and an unmistakable rough voice that resonates for a long time. So it will not be surprising if the passionate Scot will one day also inspire people live for his immense talent. Just as he did back then as a street musician in Amsterdam, where often after a short time a whole bunch of people gathered around him. A nice thought that makes Argyle optimistic about the future: "I love playing in front of people. I would like to do this until I don't feel like it anymore. Which will probably never happen at all." Hopefully not.


Note: This text was translated by machine translation software and not by a human translator. It may contain translation errors.

Date

12/11/2022
12:00 - 12:30 h
13:30 - 14:00 h
15:00 - 15:30 h

Price

Festival ticket Long Saturday: CHF 25.00 / 5.00

Ticketing

Ab Oktober via Chur Tourismus oder Eventfrog.

Address

Werkstatt Kultur-Bar
Untere Gasse 9
7000 Chur

Contact

Kulturverein Werkstatt Chur
Untere Gasse 9
7000 Chur
mail@werkstattchur.ch

Category

  • Pop general
  • Folk music
  • Soul

Benefits

  • Reduced-fare with disability card
  • Kulturlegi: Reduction

Webcode

www.chur-kultur.ch/Qy3nie

Argyle (Solo)  - 1
Argyle (Solo)  - 1

Pop, World & Folk, Black Music

Argyle (Solo)

Werkstatt Kultur-Bar, Chur

Le musicien écossais Argyle a de grandes ambitions. Le long samedi, il jouera un set en solo à l'atelier de Coire.

Argyle est l'un de ces types que l'on rencontre à l'improviste dans un pub et que l'on découvre deux heures et quelques bières plus tard : Quelqu'un a vécu beaucoup de choses dans sa jeune vie. Il n'est donc pas surprenant que le chanteur et musicien écrive des épisodes qui adoucissent les cœurs les plus durs. Le sac à dos d'Argyle, qu'il traîne depuis son enfance, ne fournit pas seulement de la matière et de l'inspiration pour des chansons, mais donne aussi à cet Écossais d'origine un sens et une motivation quotidienne pour aller de l'avant. Argyle lui-même le sait : "Mon voyage musical a commencé il y a longtemps. Et je vois où il me mène. Mais l'objectif doit clairement être la scène internationale". Même si ce touche-à-tout écossais - il écrit des chansons avec Marius Bear ou Stress, tire de la bière dans les ruelles de Zurich ou passe une grande partie de l'hiver dans les montagnes grisonnes - a de grands objectifs, tout a commencé à petite échelle.

Fils d'un Indien et d'une Écossaise, Argyle a grandi dans des conditions extrêmement modestes, s'est révélé être un bon élève, a appris à connaître les pièges d'un triste village industriel sur la côte écossaise et a finalement déménagé à Leicester, en Angleterre, à l'adolescence, pour constater que la ville proche de Brighton fait mourir les rêves : "Don't go there", dit ce sympathique contemporain en souriant d'un air doux-amer. Le terminus de Leicester n'était donc pas prévu. Et Argyle a fait ce que de nombreux artistes font souvent lorsqu'il ne reste plus qu'une petite bande à l'horizon : L'auteur-compositeur-interprète s'est perdu dans sa musique et a commencé à écrire ses propres chansons sur sa guitare. Il y a huit ans, Argyle a finalement échoué à Amsterdam et, peu après, par amour, dans sa nouvelle patrie, la Suisse. Le créatif semble s'y plaire. A tel point qu'il souhaite ouvrir un nouveau chapitre dans notre pays.

Soul meets folk meets pop : les symbioses mélodiques d'Argyles font souvent penser qu'il a mangé dans les mêmes assiettes que Nutini ou Capaldi. Il est vrai que cette comparaison n'est pas tout à fait fortuite. La teinture argyle rassemble mélodie, mélancolie et une voix rauque reconnaissable entre toutes, qui résonne longtemps. Il ne sera donc pas étonnant de voir un jour cet Écossais passionné enthousiasmer les gens en live pour son immense talent. Tout comme il l'a fait à l'époque en tant que musicien de rue à Amsterdam, où une grappe de personnes se rassemblait souvent autour de lui en peu de temps. Une belle pensée qui permet à Argyle d'envisager l'avenir avec optimisme : "J'aime jouer devant les gens. J'aimerais continuer à le faire jusqu'à ce que je n'en aie plus envie. Mais cela n'arrivera probablement jamais". Espérons que non.


Note : Ce texte a été traduit par un logiciel de traduction automatique et non par un traducteur humain. Il peut contenir des erreurs de traduction.

Date

12/11/2022
12:00 - 12:30 h
13:30 - 14:00 h
15:00 - 15:30 h

Prix

Billet du festival Samedi long : CHF 25.00 / 5.00

Prévente

Ab Oktober via Chur Tourismus oder Eventfrog.

Adresse

Werkstatt Kultur-Bar
Untere Gasse 9
7000 Chur

Contact

Kulturverein Werkstatt Chur
Untere Gasse 9
7000 Chur
mail@werkstattchur.ch

Catégorie

  • Pop en générale
  • Folk Music
  • Soul

Avantages

  • Tarif réduit avec carte d'handicap
  • Kulturlegi: Tarif réduit

Webcode

www.chur-kultur.ch/Qy3nie